Remembering the Journey

Well, somehow it has been three months since I started blogging. It has been a fruitful exercise for me as I try to sift through the thoughts that inundate my mind on a day-to-day basis. And I want to thank my readers for putting up with me this long. A passage from Frederick Buechner stopped me in my tracks and took me back to the beginnings of this blog. He writes:

I think of faith as a kind of whistling in the dark because, in much the same way, it helps to give us courage and to hold the shadows at bay. To whistle in the dark isn’t to pretend that the dark doesn’t sometimes scare the living daylights out of us. Instead, I think, it’s to demonstrate, if only to ourselves, that not even the dark can quite overcome our trust in the ultimate triumph of the Living Light.

This immediately reminded me of my first two posts, The Blogging World, and Journey (Not the Band). It is good to be reminded of origins and purpose now and again. For me, this blog is my whistling in the dark, or my walking through the clouds, not sure where I am going, but trusting that the light is my hope. Here, I can wrestle with thoughts, causing me to not constantly take in information and purging myself on it. I have an outsource, a place to write about things on my heart and mind. Through this reflective, contemplative, my hope is that I will continually find myself in God’s beautiful narrative marked by love, truth, grace, and peace. May this blog continue to encourage you as much as it has myself.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

