Life’s Transitions

I realized today that it’s been two months since I last posted. I really have no excuse other than transitions. Transitions into the final month of college. Transitions of being a college graduate. Transitions of moving to the city. Transitions to the real world (well, sort of). I came across a wonderful quote the other day from G.K. Chesterton:

Real development is not leaving things behind, as on a road, but drawing life from them, as from a root.

For me, this makes complete sense. Life is continually branching outwards, maybe even leaving the all-too familiar trunk behind. But life has shaped me. My friends and mentors over the past few years have molded me. My education has changed me. These are not things you leave at the fork in the road when you begin walking down a different path. They remain with you. In a sense, they are you. They will forever be a part of you, whether or not still physically present in your life.

As I have moved away from home and from college and started to once again find my own identity, I am often reminded of the people and memories over the past 21 years of my life. I will carry them with me, not as a burden, but as life-giving sources, roots to return to for nourishment, strength, and encouragement.

This entry was posted in Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

